The Triple Alliance


 The Axis


Germany 1939-1945

  Infanterie Division 70

  Infanterie Division 84
  Infanterie Division 89
  Infanterie Division 361

  Infanterie Division 346

►►Wilhelm Mohnke


►►Rendering Honours


►►Cross of Iron
 Warsaw Pact



The Triple Alliance

The Triple Alliance was a military alliance between Germany, Austria-Hungary, and Italy that was brokered in 1882 and still in force in 1914. The alliance guaranteed mutual support in the event of an attack by any two great powers, or in the event of an attack on Germany or Italy, an attack by France acting alone. Italy later made guarantees that it would not act against the United Kingdom or France. In August 1914, Germany and Austria-Hungary went to war with the Triple Entente, consisting of Britain, France and Russia. Italy subsequently pledged support to the Central Powers, but entered the war on the side of the Entente in May 1915, against Austria-Hungary initially, and also against Germany beginning in August 1916.

The Central Powers included Bulgaria, the Ottoman Empire, Austria-Hungary and the German states.

canadiansoldiers.com 1999-present